HiveLordLusa’s How-To #1 Part 1: Explanation

So one of the things I do is edit a series of pictures with Photoshop. Sounds like nothing new, yeah? Touching up some photos, making some people look either a bit or a whole lot different?

Well, no, actually. What I edit isn’t much more complicated in some ways, but it’s definitely not the same thing. And here comes the MLP part of this post.

So a person had a special series of images commissioned, and that series’ title is “Ponyrumi”. It’s a play on the terms “Pony” and “Kigurumi” (of the “Animegao” variety, not the other one). In the series, a human character, dubbed ‘Rumi’, is wearing costumes of various female MLP characters in Anthropomorphised (or “Anthro”) form. Now, before jumping to conclusions, no, this isn’t ‘real’ in the sense of being something that exists IRL. The series is a set of drawings, not photos (Though many people have expressed desire for the costumes to become real). They show the character wearing an almost full body costume up to the neck, complete with clothes for the pony character’s personality. The mask sits on a themed mask stand next to the person in the images.

Afterwards (though new images of the series are still made even now), someone previously of the screen name DarkPonySoul (if you’re curious, they’ve changed the last part to Spirit now for whatever reason) edited three of these pictures so that the mask would be on the character, and they did it in a way that makes the whole thing look ‘natural’, if you get what I mean. The mask doesn’t seem like a mask, and the human essentially becomes the character they’re dressed up as. However, DPS seems to have shown no more interest after these three, as all of the others remain unedited. Here’s where I come in; I wanted more of the pictures to be edited, and rather foolishly decided I should take a crack at it despite not having really any experience in that sort of thing.

To my surprise, it actually worked well. (Here’s the original image for reference)

So I tried some more of them. And they didn’t actually look bad, so I posted them, and they were very quickly up-voted. Though, to be fair, I imagine a lot of these up-voters are unaware of the previous states of the images despite my explanations in the comments. But there were people who knew what they were and told me they were impressed, so I’ve continued on. I’m still working through them all (this is a fairly recent thing) and many people are, apparently, very happy with my efforts.

What I currently do is allow people to request the next picture for me to edit, and my edit as of writing this is “G3 Rainbow Dash”. Any fans of the current version of the show who have no knowledge of prior versions, this Rainbow is very different to the one you all know and may or may not love. Her tagline isn’t “Rainbow Dash always dresses in style” for no reason.

No, I’ve actually never watched G3. Some bits of info are just unavoidable on the internet these days.

Anyway, I decided that, since I was going to get around to making a How-to for these edits anyway, I might as well use Rainbow here as my subject. On to the How-To!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment